Finalists Announced: D CEO’s 2021 Commercial Real Estate Awards

The last year has been a year like no other. However, the Dallas-Fort Worth commercial real estate market remained strong and some sectors – particularly industrial – performed exceptionally well. The number and quality of nominations for our ninth annual Commercial Real Estate Awards reflected the diversity, size and strength of the industry.

After spending several days reviewing all of the posts, D CEO’s editors selected 82 finalists in 21 categories. They represent many of the region’s largest deals and projects, but also several smaller deals that have a huge impact on their sectors or neighborhoods.

All finalists will be recognized in the April edition of D CEO. The winners will be announced at a special celebration this spring.

New categories for 2021 include Emerging Commercial Real Estate Professional, Best New Data Center, and Best Retail, Entertainment or Hotel Project.

This year, Shawn Todd of Todd Interests receives the Pioneer Award and Linda McMahon of Real Estate Council receives the Outstanding Community Service Award. Look out for full stories about these two leaders in the coming weeks.

All finalists are listed below in alphabetical order, including categories for individual and corporate awards. Check out D CEO Real Estate in the coming weeks for profiles of all of the finalists leading up to the awards ceremony this spring.

Individual awards

Shawn Todd (Todd Interests)

Linda McMahon (TREC)

Pioneer award

Shawn Todd, Managing Partner and CEO, Todd interests

Outstanding Community Service Award

Linda McMahon, President and CEO of the Real Estate Council

Broker of the Year

Adam Abushagur, Marcus & Millichap

J. Holmes Davis IV, Binswanger

Allen Gump, Colliers International

Duane Henley, Transwestern

Matthew Schendle, Cushman & Wakefield

Commercial Real Estate Executive of the Year

Get Lunsford, Holt Lunsford Commercial

Matt McGraner, NexPoint

Sharon Morrison, ESRP

Jennifer Pierson and Jason Vitorino, STRIVE

Robert Shibuya, Mohr Partners

Developer of the year

Bright Realty, led by Chris Bright

Cawley Partners, run by Bill Cawley

JPI, led by Brad Taylor

Bureau headed by John Griggs

Provident Realty Advisors, led by Leon Backes

Aspiring commercial real estate professional

Robbie Baty, Cushman & Wakefield

Adam Gottschalk, STRIVE

Ryan Johnson, SRS real estate partner

Hunter Lee, HPI

Holden Lunsford, Holt Lunsford Commercial

Jackie Marshall, CBRE

Dupree Scovell, Woodbine Development Corp.

Excellence in architecture & design

HDF, run by Jeff Smith

Merriman Anderson Architects, directed by Milton Anderson

Perkins & Will, led by Tom Reisenbichler

Excellence in constructions & engineering

AECOM Hunt, led by Monte Thurmond

CARCON Industries / STL Engineers, led by Arcilia Acosta

KAI Enterprises, run by Darren James

Schmidt & Stacy Consulting Engineers, led by David Schmidt

Finalists: projects and deals

2401 Cedar Springs

3200 Irving Boulevard

3401 & 3501 Olympus Boulevard

AC Hotel Fort Worth downtown

Amazon in the DFW Commerce Center

AMLI fountain square

Arlington ISD Arts and Athletics Complex

AT&T Discovery District

Bard apartments

Bell Textron

Carter Park East

Compass data centers / red oak

Continental Gin building

Crown Center

Dallas Food Center

Denbury Inc. and Prosperity Bank

Encore Wire Service Center

Ericsson USA 5G Smart Factory

FedEx Ground Shipping System

Former American Airlines headquarters

Globe Life Park


Hall of State in Fair Park

The Hamilton in the epic

Harwood No. 10

Haynes and Boone

Heritage Auctions

Hilton Southlake Town Square


International logistics center, phase II

International at Turtle Creek

The Kessler School

Microsoft Las Colinas

The National

The two offices at Frisco Station


Parkland Hospital Moody Center for Breast Health

Pass park

Pegasus Park


Revelstoke Presidium

Reata Pharmaceuticals

Sendera Ranch

Southlake Business Park

Stream DFW VII data center

TCU School of Music, Music Hall and Van Cliburn Concert Hall


The Union

VariSpace Southlake

Victory Commons One

Wallis and Baker